h1

Day Three

December 24, 2006

I’ve just been on a four-plus hour hike through the British moors, which was insanely difficult, wet and freezing but SO worth it. It was Mark and his brother Paul’s annual Christmas Eve hike, and I was the first woman ever invited out with the guys. Since I sprained my ankle and messed up my knee earlier this fall, I’ve had a hard time working out and staying in shape. But I am so proud of myself for keeping up with all them (two of their friends were with us as well). The terrain was quite rugged, and I’ve never seen anything like it. Desolate, but really amazing. It was so cold that our eyelashes were frozen. But enough of that, just had to brag. More on that later, as I am trying to go in order here.

Day three found us meeting my friend Sally for brunch at the Cafe in the Crypt at St. Martin-in-the-Fields. Last time I saw Sally, she was pregnant with her first son Oscar. Now she’s got three more weeks to go with her second son! Though we didn’t have much time, we all had a lovely chat. We took photos, too (of course):

After saying goodbye, Drew and I wandered around Trafalgar Square taking photos and avoiding all the crazy pigeons begging for food. We spent some time at the National Portrait Gallery, then we walked up toward Leicester Square to investigate the Photographers Gallery.

Around two, we hopped the tube North to Hampstead, which was obviously more quiet and cozier than central London. I had wanted to walk through Hampstead Heath, but the fog settled in quickly and it was soon dark outside. We had a great time walking the streets though, as it was such a beautiful and charming area. I was able to get a few photos in before the fog settled in, then took a few more in our muted surroundings:

Drew’s Uncle John recommended that we go to The Flask for a pint while in Hampstead. While we warmed up there (it was so peaceful and quiet compared to everywhere else we had been in London), a local recommended that we go to the Holly Bush next. Again, it was quiet and cozy and we had a spectacular dinner: meat pies (I had chicken and mushroom, Drew had the beef), with cheddar mash and a yummy salad. We headed back for the B&B early so we could catch up on our photo uploading and blogging, but that’s when we received the devastating news about Nesta and we were far too upset to do anything constructive.

Well, we are soon off for a church service complete with caroling. Merry Christmas everyone!

2 comments

  1. Lovely photo of you and Sal, even though I’m totally green to have missed lunch with the two of you! The rest of the foggy photos are just beautiful.


  2. Your descriptions and photographs bring back some great memories. I look forward to the next set. So sorry to hear about Nesta.



Leave a Reply

