h1

Day Eleven: Part Two

February 6, 2007

Following the day trip to Manchester, we all headed over to Mark’s grandparents’ house where we had a post-Christmas feast along with Mark’s brother Paul and “his Sarah”. I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this yet, but I love Mark’s grandparents. Such fun and interesting people. According to Sara, Grandma loves entertaining and always goes all out for such events. Apparently, her big thing is to pick up the best cuts of meat she possibly can from the butcher, then not allow anyone to eat until they’ve guessed how much she paid for the meat! She’s a riot that way, though she didn’t do that for us…

The meal was wonderful though, and it’s fair to say that we all ate like pigs. We had lamb with Grandma’s mint jelly, ham, turkey with her cranberry sauce, pork pie, stuffing, potatoes, salad, etc. We had Christmas pudding and cream afterward, and she put a silver sixpence into it, of which she only has five left. She made me dish out my dessert first and the coin came out with my first scoop. Perhaps it’s a sign of good luck for this year? Grandma was so excited that I found it that she grabbed me and kissed me on the forehead. Now that I am home I am still trying to figure out what I will do with this unique souvenir from our trip. We finished up dessert with mince pies, marmalade tarts and an assortment of cheese, then our clan gathered for some photos.

We had another go with the Christmas crackers afterward, and we put on our crowns and exchanged more terrible jokes. Then Grandma came out with a bag of little gifts, which we all took turns opening. Drew and I were tired from having walked miles across Manchester, but it was such a good night with the family. They’re all such nice people and I miss them already.

Leave a Reply

